Procrastination 101

I haven’t done any posts lately and I thought that talking about how I’m the Queen of Procrastination would make a good topic. I decided to Google the word just to see what comes up and to make sure my info on it was correct. 

So I found this article on Wikipedia. In short, procrastination means—delaying urgent tasks until the last minute in preference for more pleasurable stuff. I learned that the ‘pleasure principle’ is the one responsible for procrastination — that psychologists believe this is a coping mechanism for anxiety over starting or completing a work or task. (In other words, Pleasure = Bad for you.) 

Color me shocked. I never knew that. The thought went through my head, “OMG, I have an anxiety issue!” 

I read on. I learned that other psychologists believe that anxiety will cause people to postpone their urgent tasks to the last minute only if they are impulsive. 

So now on top of having an anxiety issue, I’m also an impulsive person? Impulsive’s pretty cool actually. I like that one. 

I continued reading: “Procrastination may result in stress, a sense of guilt and crisis, severe loss of personal productivity, as well as social disapproval for not meeting responsibilities or commitments.”, “Chronic procrastination may be a sign of an underlying psychological disorder.”

Did you even know that? I didn’t even know there was something called ‘Chronic procrastination’. So along with an anxiety disorder, I now have I don’t know what other psychological disorders. 

Holy cow! I need to get myself admitted! And all I did was look up the word, “Procrastination.”

googling ur symptoms

I think a little procrastination’s good for you. I admit that it’s a coping mechanism to deal with negative stuff because for me it works. Whenever I’m down or sad, watching a funny movie or reading an awesome book makes me feel better. Yes, I know, I should have been dealing with all the many issues in my life that need attention, but for just a little while, I needed to forget it all and just be myself. 

I think that’s therapy enough for me. 

Often when I write for long stretches at a time or stick with the same story, I need to get away from it for awhile. Stepping away from it kind of put things into perspective. I go back recharged and armed with a new sense of purpose. 

So a little procrastination’s good, just be careful not to let it become chronic, or you’ll get a letter from the loony bin with your name on it, lol. 

Regards,

S.R. McKade

4 thoughts on “Procrastination 101

Comment

