Blessings in disguise

When I look back over the years and reflect over the things I’ve done or didn’t do, the bad and good things that happened, I had quite a few regrets. Regrets over how I should have done this or handled that or things I shouldn’t have done.

Even though I had regrets, every little thing that happened, molded me into the person I am today and I find myself lucky to be who I am.

Perfect in my imperfections

Besides, everything’s always clear in hindsight 🙂

There have been a few times over the years when I’ve wished – if only I could go back and change the past. Don’t we all? But I think, looking back, that I wouldn’t change a thing. Even the bad stuff.

Because the bad stuff made me grow, deepened my thoughts and my soul. Made me become stronger. When you let yourself despair, when you let the bad stuff crush you and keep rehashing the past over and over again, you don’t grow. You become static, stale, unaware of who you are, cut off from your soul. I chose to accept that everything bad that occurred, happened for a reason.

Every bad thing that has happened to me, turned into a blessing in disguise or I should say, I searched for and found the blessing in it.

There’s a big difference between how you view the things that happen to you. You can chose to fold under them or look them in the eye and say “I’m stronger. I will get through this.”

There’s a prayer I’ve always believed in, no matter how hard things get:
“The Serenity Prayer (extract)

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.”

When one door closes, another opens. All those clichés are really true. There’s always a way out. You just have to look hard enough to find it. Things are never as desperate as they appear to be.

When you feel as if everything’s hopeless, learn to bear it with the faith that it will work out or that something better will come out of it.

Find a way to wield a positive spin on the bad stuff. For me, sarcastic humor always helps. 😀

humor

Find your silver lining. Grow strong like an oak tree and in the face of cyclonic winds, stand tall and true. Grow.

Regards,

S.R. McKade

2 thoughts on “Blessings in disguise

  1. This is so inspiring, S.R. 🙂 And it’s something that I’ve also experienced in hindsight. You are a very strong person and of course you can make it through anything 😀 ❤

    Like

Comment

