Review – Wizard and Glass (The Dark Tower #4) by Stephen King

Roland of Gilead and his fellow pilgrims determine to reach the Dark Tower, but their quest is rife with confrontation, conflict and sacrifice - from a vast computer system which bargains in riddles to Roland's old enemy Walter and the wizard's glass.

Roland of Gilead and his fellow pilgrims determine to reach the Dark Tower, but their quest is rife with confrontation, conflict and sacrifice – from a vast computer system which bargains in riddles to Roland’s old enemy Walter and the wizard’s glass.

Genre: Horror, Thriller

Review: 5 of 5 Stars

“Bird and Bear and Hare and Fish,
Give my love her fondest wish.”

Such a sweet rhyme, yet, so heartbreaking at the same time. I think, for as long as I live, I will always remember this rhyme.

As Roland told his story, I forgot that Eddie, Suzannah, Jake and Oy were there.
There were only Roland, his father, his mates Alain and Cuthbert, the people of Mejis. And his Susan.

The past turned into the present.
Intellectually, I knew that the people Roland talked about were long dead but as he told his story, they came alive for me. I could see the young Roland, so young and innocent.

The showdown at the start with Roland, Alain, Cuthbert and the coffin hunters – that was so cool and brilliant! Man, what strategy, what suspense, what excitement! They were magnificent. That was one of my favorite parts of the story.

At the end, Roland’s deepest grief became mine and I had to put the book away for a little while so I could mourn, too, as he did. Some people stay with you, in your heart, forever.

What stands out most to me in this latest volume, through every revelation – just how hard Roland’s life is, what an ordeal his quest for the Dark Tower is. But what is a quest, if not fraught with pitfalls? To carry the burden of all that pain and heartbreak and not crumble under it. To keep going day after day with what he went through. I wished I had superpowers so I could jump in the book and take it all away for him, make it all better.

Hats off to Mr. King for yet another compelling book. Now onto book 5 – the Dark Tower looms ever closer.

Comment

