Review – The Host by Stephenie Meyer

Picture1

Synopsis: Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind. As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

Genre: Young Adult Sci-fi, Romance, Dystopian

Rating: 5 Stars

Review:

I finally got around to reading The Host. I watched the movie when it came out and loved it. I told myself I definitely had to read the book. But you know how it goes with TBR (To-Be-Read) lists – you keep adding books with big, greedy eyes on little time to read but you just can’t help yourself. And voilà, that’s how you know you’re a bookworm. I recently re-watched the movie and loved it all over again. I decided I better read the book this time.

So I started reading it and I got hooked in. So much so, that I was up till 2 a.m. reading. I found it enthralling. Stephanie Meyer did a great job in writing a sci-fi story that was interesting, emotional and fun. Her imagination is a marvel. The way she wrote about those lives Wanderer lived in the other worlds—I could picture them.

Her writing was a joy to read. The emotions practically jumped out of the page. Poignant, emotional, well-written and fantastic story-telling. Five stars and straight into my favorites and to-read-again pile.

I’m so glad I watched the movie before reading the book. This way I got to enjoy BOTH the movie AND the book.

Regards,
S.R. McKade

4 thoughts on “Review – The Host by Stephenie Meyer

Comment

